• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My ex-wife filed a 2007 1040 tax return.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

divfreeadvice

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

I am a resident of NY. My ex-wife filed a 2007 Federal Income Tax Return and filed as "Jointly", however we were Legally Separated at that time. She never received my consent to do this. She used my Social Security number and had to of forged my name. What are the penalties for her if I report it? The only reason she hasn't been caught is because I never filled out a 2007 return. I am just going to make her aware that she broke the law and here are the consequences. She's been very mean.

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

I am a resident of NY. My ex-wife filed a 2007 Federal Income Tax Return and filed as "Jointly", however we were Legally Separated at that time. She never received my consent to do this. She used my Social Security number and had to of forged my name. What are the penalties for her if I report it? The only reason she hasn't been caught is because I never filled out a 2007 return. I am just going to make her aware that she broke the law and here are the consequences. She's been very mean.
That's where you might have the problem - you didn't submit a separate return. The IRS can (and will) accept a joint return signed by only one spouse in certain situations if the other spouse does not file a separate return for the same tax year.

Hopefully LdiJ (one of the resident tax gurus) will stop by and answer to clarify or correct.

ETA: did she actually forge your signature? (remembering that in some cases she would not actually need your signature)

LdiJ