• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

In need of urgent assistance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Julibrazil

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? UK
Hello;
This is my first time posting here, so in advance thank you for your help, since this is a somewhat unusual case.
I'm a american resident (green card through marriage) currently in the UK on holiday. My ex-husband(US citzen) and I have been separated for the past 2 years. We held out on the divorce until the beginning of this year when we finally decided to make it oficial. I decided to take the initiative an file for it.

Before doing so, I found out that in Washington, DC (were we both reside) the plaintiff needs to appear in court. Since I had a trip planned to the UK ( a long term one, working for a company here) I asked my ex-husband if he'd agree in being the plaintiff. He was ok with it, since we both wanted the divorce-an uncontested one, btw. I travelled to the UK and have been here for the past 5 months and he has not filed the divorce since!

I've been in touch with him, sent all the paperwork needed, even sent him money for the filing fee, but every week there's an excuse. I don't know what else to do. I Cannot afford to go back to the US now (I also run the risk of not being allowed back in the UK and finishing my contract), and was wondering if there's any way of filing for a divorce from overseas and not having to appear in court.
I'm very concerned about the fact he has my future in his hands and it appears there's nothing I can do about it.

Help!What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

LdiJ

Guess that's what happens when you marry for a Green Card. You get what you pay for.