• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Never legally married!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

crystaltoo

What is the name of your state?ca
My husband (?) thought he was married to a woman for 15 years. On checking with the county clerk's office we found no record of the marriage. The ex was notified and we got married.

Now she is filing married to him on her tax return. She refuses to accept this fact and will not provide any documentation to contradict the information.

What will happen? What do we do to protect ourselves?

coupleneedshelp

im not a professional, but in ny i know that there is a concept of common-law marriage, even if not legally married. he might need a divorce anyway.

how did they file their tax returns until now?

why does she gain by filing married. if she has the kids and wants EIC she can file as head of household, and save by not having to split the refund with him. if she's filing married to get his tax refund based on money he paid in, he can file separately and after some time the irs will award the refund to him, or he can apply the refund to 2005 taxes and pay less estimated tax this year.

anyway, your bigger problem is in the marriage, equitable distribution, etc. which i cant really help you with.

rmet4nzkx

crystaltoo said:
My husband (?) thought he was married to a woman for 15 years. On checking with the county clerk's office we found no record of the marriage. The ex was notified and we got married.

Now she is filing married to him on her tax return. She refuses to accept this fact and will not provide any documentation to contradict the information.