• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

possible options and if my state should care about my divorce

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Katherins

What is the name of your state - Maryland.

My husband and I married 2.5 years ago in Russia. We are both Russians but got our green cards so we have been living together in the US, MD for a bit more than 2 years. I am a student and I have a student job. He pays for my tuition and basically pays for rent. He has never physically abused me, but he does it verbally every day.
My questions are:
1) I want to file for a divorce but I don't know if I will afford it. Who will pay for the expenses?
2) According to MD law, we should not live together for 1 year to divorce. Should I pay for place to stay? ( We just singned lease in our apartment for 1 year) Should I live the apartment?
3) Will I get any support from my husband?
4) Does it really matter that we got married in Russia? Should Maryland solv eour problems?
5) One time I wanted to call the police while he was screaming at me, but I though that he would deny evreything. Does it worth calling the police if I am scared him?

Thank you.

mistoffolees

What is the name of your state - Maryland.

My husband and I married 2.5 years ago in Russia. We are both Russians but got our green cards so we have been living together in the US, MD for a bit more than 2 years. I am a student and I have a student job. He pays for my tuition and basically pays for rent. He has never physically abused me, but he does it verbally every day.
My questions are:
1) I want to file for a divorce but I don't know if I will afford it. Who will pay for the expenses?