• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Prenups

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dbonanza

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

I am a dental student. I've heard that prenup's can state that each party is responsible for 50% of living expenses. However, what happens if one party earns less than 50% of the living expenses. For example, what if the couple spends $200,000 annually (mostly by the wife), the husband earns $200,000 and the wife earns only $50,000? Is she in any way liable for the excessive spending if the husband lives relatively frugally? What can be done to protect the husband from excessive living expenses. In other words, what is to prevent the wife from going out and buying an expensive car or something, since she knows she can't afford the 50% living expenses anyway? Is there any way to make a provision that states that the husband has the sole responsibility for making financial decisions beyond 2 x the wife's salary, since, in effect, she isn't the one paying for it anyway?

mistoffolees

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL