• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Prenuptial advice - post marrital assets

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie9999

My finace wants me to sign a prenup to protect his family's assets. I am fine with that. When it came however, it was much much more detailed than that. It tried to cover all aspects of the marriage. I have spoken to a lawyer and he has outlined all things that are potentially unfair and negotiated with my fiance. My fiances parents are both top divorce lawyers (and no doubt writing prenup) and he is an only child with a very good career - also a top lawyer. I am a primary school teacher, with not a great earning potential, and I want to have a family. He is fine with that. However there is something they want me to agree on and I dont think its fair and need advice. They want me to agree that our savings from salries will always stay in out own names - never joint asset. I can see problems in that if I want to look after kids and not work I will not have any money. He says he will look after me and pay for everything.He will pay most of mortgage and make isas for me. He is generous. But I feel I could ressent him if he is also making massive savings for himself and I have none.If I support him in his job and raise our family, surely i should have some entitlement to the thousands he is going to earn. Especially if after 20 years he leaves me and takes everything with him to the next woman. His mother has told me, why should I have any of his money? He will look after me. I just feel it is not an equal footing and I could hate him years down the line when I have to go asking for money.

mistoffolees