• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Proving infidelity

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

LdiJ

In answer to an earlier comment, I just came upon this information yesterday.

My husband will argue that since he earned the money and it is his 401K, that the money is solely his. He will also argue that since I have been working for 8 years, that I should have created my own retirement fund. But at this point, it is the only retirement fund we have (and it's a significant savings - 300K+, much more than I would have been able to accrue at my income).
Well, your husband would be wrong and would fail in that argument. It simply does not work the way that he thinks it works. His income was marital property throughout the entire marriage and not his own personal, separate property.

Proserpina

I guess I am confused. If they were married for 29 years and truly are married to the right person, the one they cannot live without, one act of infidelity 15 years ago would be meaningless except for a discussion. What happened at year 29? Why divorce him? I am staying out of this thread purposely and suggest you discuss your feelings with clergy.

/fail

And irrelevant, at that.

Proserpina

<--- makes a difference

My husband will argue that since he earned the money and it is his 401K, that the money is solely his. He will also argue that since I have been working for 8 years, that I should have created my own retirement fund. But at this point, it is the only retirement fund we have (and it's a significant savings - 300K+, much more than I would have been able to accrue at my income).
He's in for some sticker shock, by the looks of things.