• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Which State?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rlkelle

What is the name of your state?NM

I live in NM and have for the last 2 1/2 years as I am a graduate student. My husband lives in MO, where we were married. I plan to file for a divorce around May as our youngest child will turn 18 then. We have a large amount of debt including a mortgage and my student loans, credit cards, etc. I am hoping to get out of this marriage with my car, which is paid for but is in both names, and, hopefully, only the debt owed on my student loan. In which state should I file for the best results?

rlkelle

well, bill-wise, over the past 2 1/2 years I have sent home approx. $30,000 to pay off said bills and he has neglected to do so. At this point I am fed up and feel that he deserves to have to pay them. Although as my student loans total almost $60,000, I don't consider that I'm sticking it to him, actually he's getting off lightly.
My question as to which state is best to divorce in concerns residency laws and community property laws as NM is a community property state whereas MO is not. I am also leaving him with all of the assets of our marriage, with the exception of my car and personal property(eg. clothes and jewelry).

Bali Hai

rlkelle said:
well, bill-wise, over the past 2 1/2 years I have sent home approx. $30,000 to pay off said bills and he has neglected to do so. At this point I am fed up and feel that he deserves to have to pay them. Although as my student loans total almost $60,000, I don't consider that I'm sticking it to him, actually he's getting off lightly.