• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Texas Common Law Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

Shepx

I am a resident of Texas

I've read every post in this forum, and I see that a couple members are quite knowledgeable about Texas Family Law.

I have a situation that I rarely see addressed.

I lived with a woman in Texas for a couple years. We intended to marry after buying a house and car and basically establishing ourselves. We have no children. We earn identical salaries.

The three criteria in Texas that a couple must meet to be considered common law married:

1) Must agree to be married
2) Must hold out to others etc....
3) Must live together as husband and wife

The first criteria we flat fail. We never agreed that we were "married", or to be married, or to be husband and wife. Our intention was to be formally married when we could afford it.

The second criteria we pass, as we filed married/joint returns and had joint bank accounts.

The third criteria we pass, obviously.

We separated last October. She is primary on the home and I am a co-signer. Same for the car, except that it was a lease.

She wrecked her (old) car and bought a nice little SUV.

She threatened me with a "grounds" divorce if I did not get the car refinanced in my name only, to get out of the lease somehow to get her name off it. The threat was inconsequential to me, but I did want the car in either her name or mine, so that neither of us were responsible for it, in case one or the other party defaults.

I did manage to do that.