• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

US citizen living in Japan

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mchalmers

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I am a US citizen currently working in Japan. Are there any special rules or circumstances I need to be aware of in order to file for Divorce from my soon to be ex who lives in California? I am also a registered resident of California. Any advice or words of wisdom appreciated. Thank you.

:confused:

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I am a US citizen currently working in Japan. Are there any special rules or circumstances I need to be aware of in order to file for Divorce from my soon to be ex who lives in California? I am also a registered resident of California. Any advice or words of wisdom appreciated. Thank you.

:confused:
YOu are living in Japan? How do you believe you are still a resident of California? Are you in the military?

mchalmers

residency

Well, I have a mailing address in California, i am registered to vote in California and I have a current California drivers license. I also file California state tax forms.
If I am not considered a California resident, then what am I?
Thank you

mistoffolees

WHY are you living in Japan? You didn't answer that question.
And what are the particulars? If you're still using your house in CA and fly to Japan for a defined period, but return regularly to CA and intend to return there, it may be different than if you've completely moved to Japan with the intent to stay. That's assuming you're not military which has entirely different rules.

VeronicaLodge