• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can you go to jail for assault with no proof?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

liquidmetalix

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I have been served papers saying I have to go to court for the following charges being brought by my wife.

attempted assault
assault in the second degree
assault in the third degree
harassment in the first or second degree
disorderly conduct
menacing in the second or third degree

she is saying i have been abusing her and the children for many years.
one of the incidents mentioned say i attacked her in November of 2008 with a steak knife and stabbed her in the lip.
and apparently i kick and throw her cat around.
also on the the day she moved out of my home:
(direct from the paperwork)

the petr states that the resp and his current girlfriend violently removed her from the home. the resp attempted to throw her down the stairs while petr was in pre-labor.

oh and apparently i am very dangerous and a likely to use a firearm on her.

she wants the court to adjudge me of these crimes.
enter a order of protection that i can never contact her or my children ever again, and she wants to retrieve her cat from my premises (that she believes is still here, i got rid of that cat the day she left, you cant force me to take care of your pet)

she has called my house threatening me and my roommate (who is not my girlfriend) with her friends saying they will be at court and will say they saw me abusing her and the children and they gonna make sure i go to jail and vulgarities.

she has no proof of any these things she is charging me with, can i go to jail even though she has no evidence?