• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Difficulty serving papers.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

spanoodles

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
California.

I am new to this entire process of going through a restraining order and have already fallen behind the serving step. I went to the hearing, explained to the court that my ex is homeless and basically on the run, and they only gave me an extension. How am I possibly supposed to serve someone who does not have a physical address, won't respond to any of my friends to find out where he is staying, and just overall is working so hard to avoid me because he knows about the order? I've considered just having the sheriff serve him but from some research, I have read that I must provide a physical address for him to be served. He has no job and he refuses to contact his local family members due to control issues. I have my next hearing within a week and a half and I just really want to get this bull**** over with...

Any suggestions?

sandyclaus

California.