• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Domestic A+B

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

harry3433

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law

Mother in law showed up uninveted at my house today. My Wife and her argued. They have been fighting now for about 6 months. Mother in law had a birthday cake with her. She placed it on a shelf near the front door. They continued to argue and my wife threw the cake and it hit my mother in law in the back of the head causing very minor injuries. police were called. I am a police officer, so I knew what was going to happen. A Crminal app. has been issued. Mother in law already stated that she is not going to move forward on this. We will receive a summons to appear in front of a clerk. What should i expect after that? do we need a lawyer? Any info would really help.

Hot Topic

Why didn't you include the name of your state?

No sympathy for a man married to a nutjob who apparently feels it's no big deal because the nutjob only caused minor injuries to the mother-in-law.

You're a police officer, and you don't know what's going to happen next?

Last edited:

mistoffolees

Why didn't you include the name of your state?

No sympathy for a man married to a nutjob who apparently feels it's no big deal because the nutjob only caused minor injuries to the mother-in-law.

You're a police officer, and you don't know what's going to happen next?
That was my thought. He ought to know what's going to happen next. If he doesn't, he needs to find another line of work.

I'm not even going to get into the matter of a MIL who has been fighting with her daughter for 6 months just showing up at the door.....

cyjeff