• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Falsely Accused of Domestic Assault

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fire_medic

Kentucky

I am a college student and I had dated a girl for about a year. I moved in with her on August 1. While she was always a nice enough girl with good intentions, she was extremely clingy and possessive; often becoming emotional at the drop of a pin over small things. She would call me and text me multiple times a day. It got to the point that I would ignore her calls and texts. After four weeks of living with her, I came home from class one night and went into my bathroom to shave before going to work. She began to chew me out for not calling her back and ignoring her calls all day. She then threw her phone at me, shattering it against a wall in my room. I continued shaving because she has a history of throwing things when she gets upset. I finished shaving, the whole time she was still yelling at me. I just kept telling her that I didn't really care anymore. She charged into the bathroom and began ripping down my shower curtain. I grabbed her hands to stop her and she backed off, so I let go. I then went into my room and got my phone to call my friends to come over so that I would have a witness to all of this. She threw her phone at me again and then threw a listerine bottle at me. She then charged at me and threw punches at me. I did not retaliate. I left the residence, with her throwing her phone at me a final time as I walked out of the door. I met my friends in the parking lot, right next to a detective who I know and who just two weeks prior I had told that I was in a relationship where I felt trapped and I was afraid of what my girlfriend