• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need advice in Minnesota

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Aylib

What is the name of your state (Minnesota)?

Hello,
I'll start out by saying that I am very new to legal matters, terminology, criminal system, etc.

Roughly a month ago, my wife and I started arguing. We were sitting in different rooms, without any physical confrontation or threats. We were basically having an ugly, pointless shouting match, yelling f-- you back and forth. She then called the cops, saying she felt threatened. When they showed up, they told me to leave the house, also telling me that I'm getting a break, since one of the cops noticed my dog tags laying on the floor. We chatted about serving in the military for a bit, and he said that he understands where I am coming from (I told him I had PTSD after serving in iraq) and will give me a break. He also gave me his number to call in case I just need to talk. I spent the night elsewhere, then we patched things up, my wife saying she shouldn't have called the police, but she was too angry and didn't think rationally.

Few days ago we had another fight, in which she started to hit me and throw things at me. When I tried to leave the house, she got in the way and would not let me out, blocking the doorway. I told her to let me get out. She would not, instead continuing to hit me. I grabbed her and threw her out of my way. Then she went to sit on the bed, and I followed her, grabbing the bed and tipping it on the side, making my wife fall to the floor. Knowing I was way too angry, I left the house. When I came back about an hour later, there was a squad car in our driveway.