• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Want to file restraining order against parents

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ItalianStallion

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I'm 21 years old at the end of the month. I'm a college student. Basically I want a restraining order against my parents. They're verbally abusive, and they drive me insane. Never happy with anything I do. Everytime I go home, we always get into verbal and physical fights, and I'm tired of it. I'm unhappy with them in my life, and now my dad pulled a stunt down here on campus that has campus security AND my football coaches involved. I know I don't legally have to keep in contact with them, but they don't realize that, and thats how security and the coaches are now involved. Now I can't look at the coaches the same way again, and now I have to rebuild what little social life I have. Would a judge hear this case? I attend college in WV, so is it possible the restraining order could apply to both states? I have grandparents I can live with when I'm home if I have to move out.

Eekamouse

Are they paying for your schooling? If they are, don't be shocked if they pull the plug financially on you when you file for the restraining order. If they are not paying for your school or any of your expenses, then you have nothing to worry about.

ItalianStallion

Are they paying for your schooling? If they are, don't be shocked if they pull the plug financially on you when you file for the restraining order. If they are not paying for your school or any of your expenses, then you have nothing to worry about.