• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1st Citation in AZ for possession of marijuana, paraphernalia

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

queenphina

I'm a just-turned-21 female that was stopped by Highway Patrol in AZ while returning home from a trip in CA/NV. I am a TX resident. Myself and my boyfriend were stopped and issued citations for possession of marijuana and paraphernalia on I-40 eastbound roughly 3 weeks ago. Of course, I'm thrilled the officer was understanding enough to issue these and send us on our way, as being stuck in AZ would be alot stressful. But I am in the heath field, and a drug charge on my record would be damaging for my future. My court date is set for the end of the month, and I'm not sure what to expect. My boyfriend consented to knowledge of 4-5 roaches in our ashtray, and I didn't have knowledge of anything. I'm nervous on what to plead, because I feel that, although they were found in my vehicle, they weren't mine - I had tons of family, friends and acquaintences in and out of my vehicle since CA and NV! This wasn't mentioned to the officer because I was trying to be complient, but now I'm regretting it. What do I plead, and is there any way to keep this off my record? This is my first offense and clean record regardless. Also, what amount of fines should I expect? ANY INFORMATION IS EXTREMELY HELPFUL!!!!What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?