• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Advice needed - Possible outcomes - manufacture of controlled substance (marijuana)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

auanon

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon.

Hi everyone.

I am a current Oregon resident trying to get advice for my cousin, who now lives out of state.

Over 10 years ago, my cousin was charged with manufacturing a controlled substance. She grew 4 plants and was charged with a felony. She was barely 19 years old when it happened and was sentenced to 2 or 3 years probation. Unfortunately, marijuana was the least of her troubles. She was also a multiple substance abuser and was addicted to meth, among other things. Given her age, inexperience, and irrational drug-hazed mind, she stupidly skipped town in fear.... which resulted, of course, in a bench warrant.

Over the next ten years she stayed living out of Oregon (moved to the mid-west), cleaned herself up and quit using illegal substances. She has had a clean record (except for a speeding ticket once) for the whole 10 years and will continue to have a clean record. She has found work full time.... and even worked at places that required random drug testing.... passing each time. She has even gone back to school, graduated with a Bachelors degree with a high GPA, and is even considering continuing her education.