• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Could this get thrown out/dropped?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jojoch

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Utah

I'm a freshman attending the University of Utah. Early on in December I was in my friend Taylor's dorm room, we were just playing video games, not up to any trouble. I noticed when I walked into his room that there was a mild smell of marijuana but considering I resided in freshman dorms that isn't exactly a foreign smell so I didn't really worry about it too much. That night his suitemate, tyler, was checking out of the room for winter break. For his check out the floor RA had to look over his room quickly to make sure that he was able to leave. When the ra came to inspect his room she noticed the smell of marijuana and called the campus police as well as her supervisor. Now tyler's room is right next to taylor's, seeing as they are suitemates, so the police came and proceeded to search both rooms. They found nothing in Tyler's and found a grinder with a tiny amount of marijuana inside Taylor's room. They searched myself as well as my backpack where they found nothing except my school supplies. I was still charged with possession of a controlled substance. I am attempting to contact the Prosecutor before by upcoming pre-trial hearing to see if he is willing to drop the charges, as I don't see how I could be charged with that in the first place as

A) I did not know that there was anything in the room anyways

B) I didn't have anything personally, on myself, or in my bag

c) It was not my room, not my grinder