• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forged Prescriptions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ruby27

New York

I am a veterinarian practicing in the State of New York. I have found out from a local pharmacy that a long time employee of mine has been using prescriptions stolen from my office and illegally signing my name to obtain a schedule 111 narcotic (hydrocodone). This has been going on for 8-10 years without my knowledge.The narcotics were supposedly being used for this employees pet to control a coughing problem. When I confronted the employee she admitted to forging my name on the prescriptions and obviously has an addiction problem as she is taking the drugs. The pharmacy will obviously not allow her to fill any prescriptions in the future. She is seeking help for her drug issues and I dont want to prosecute her but also dont want to leave myself open to any criminal allegations. The pharmacist says I should't report it because it would lead to an investigation and cause problems for all parties involved. Since he filled all these prescriptions he may be protecting his interests and not mine.

Isis1

New York