• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Got arrested for possession, first offence, private lawyer or public defender?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

philmc95

Florida: I was arrested over the weekend on 3 charges. Possession of cannabis under 20 grams, paraphernalia, and trespassing. It was less than a gram. It's my first offence and I'm 20. What are my odds of being acquitted or getting that program where you get tested for six months and get your record expunged? Also should I get a private lawyer(that I can barely afford since I'm a college student) or can a public defender yield the same results? Getting my record wiped is important to me because I don't want it effect my internship and job applications negativity.

FlyingRon

A public defender is provided for the indigent who can not afford legal counsel, not some default for those unwilling to pay for their own defense. Having drug convictions won't effect your internship, but it certainly would affect it (and future employment) Also, on this side of the pond, we spell it offense.

You definitely need some sort of lawyer. We don't know the situation exactly, but it's unlikely you're going to get an outright acquittal. There is a Florida pretrial diversion program that if you complete successfully will avoid conviction. It's at the discretion of the State's Attorney to recommend it. Expect that it will cost you money and you will be drug tested throughout if you are lucky enough to be allowed to enter.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Getting my record wiped is important to me because I don't want it effect my internship and job applications negativity.