• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

law student charged with MJ possession

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

john_roberts

This occurred in El Dorado County, California.

I am a 3rd year law student who is hoping to become a public defender. I have been wrongfully accused and I am now worried about my career prospects.

I was recently cited and released for marijuana possession. The citation says 11357(A), which is possession of concentrated cannabis, but I believe the officer made an error and the correct charge should be 11357(B). The charging decision has not yet been made by the prosecutor. From what I understand, the sheriff recovered less than an ounce of marijuana, a pipe, a marijuana grinder, and a rolled marijuana cigar.

The case against me is based entirely on circumstantial evidence. My car broke down on the freeway and I had to walk 3 miles to get cell phone reception. I returned to my vehicle about 1 hour later and a patrol car was waiting. He asked if I had anything illegal, I said no, and he told me the trunk reeked of marijuana. I told him I had no idea what he was talking about, and he proceeded to search my car saying he had probable cause. Everything was found in the trunk of the vehicle. I denied everything and pointed out that several other people had driven my car in the previous weeks and that I had been away from my vehicle for an hour.

My primary question is this: Assuming charges are filed, how will this effect my career options? I believe that I can still pass the moral character component of the bar, but I am worried that I will be unable to become a public defender.