• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Marijuana possession charge w/o evidence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jd1987

Hello, thanks for reading what I am about to entail upon you. I am a 20-year-old male living in Kansas. In October I had officers come into my house/apartment (I share with roommates, one of them let them in). While the officers were in my house I was in my room with three friends while I worked on my computer, as I'm a computer programmer. There was reminiscent smoke in my room, of what they inferred by smell was marijuana. They questioned my friends first, before questioning or even supervising me; perhaps because I'm in a wheelchair.

When all of my friends denied having marijuana, I said that I had finished a blunt and that I smoke occasionally for medicinal purposes (spasticity in my legs, lordosis, scholiosis, bladder spasms, upper back & neck pain from metal rods, and stomach pain caused by lordosis). The officer searched my room and didn't find anything, because I didn't have anything left. When I asked the officers why they were there, there was a hiatus, then a quick response of "We received a call from someone who was outside whom said they smelled marijuana" from one of them. After all was said and done, my friend and roommate was arrested upon a warrant (traffic violation) of which I believe was their purpose there in the first place. The officer proceeded to tell me that they couldn't arrest my other two friends and I because they couldn't find any evidence.