• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Medical patient being charged with Possession of Marijuana (police report inside)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

twizzles

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Michigan

So I'm a medical patient in the state of Michigan and made a really poor judgement call to smoke a very small amount of marijuana in my parked car with a friend outside his apartment complex. The police and prosecutor are trying to say that because the parking lot is a public place and by friend is a non patient that I'm no longer protected under the medical marijuana law and are charging me with possession. The police officer said I did not appear to be under the influence and we had smoked 1-2 hours BEFORE the police came. Somebody called them because we were parked in an assigned spot and I didn't know. Nobody saw us smoking and everything they know is by my own admission to the officer. I tried to look up the definition of "puplic place" but it's not defined in the medical marijuana law and the only definition I could find was in the Michigan public smoking ban which states "A public place is any place accessible to the public by right or invitation". So they are arguing that the parking lot was a public place and I am arguing that my personal vehicle is not a public place. Below is the police report:

------------------------------------------------------------------