• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Minor marijuana possession in Yellowstone Park

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

flyfisher

I'm a student in need of future federal financial aid, which is my main concern w/ taking this charge. I was pulled over late at night in Yellowstone, making this a federal case w/ a hardass prosecutor to deal with.

After being stopped and while officer 1 checked on my info., officer 2 approached as I sat in my vehicle to "engage me conversation." Before even reaching my window, he mentioned the smell of MJ, although the first officer had never noticed or mentioned anything. He told me to hand over whatever I had b/c they knew I had drugs and would search my truck and find it anyway. That's when I gave officer 2 my pipe and small orange pill bottle of minor quantity of MJ. I feel his statements were coercive and should invalidate my consent, or the evid. I turned over. Does plain view--here, the smell noticed by officer 2 but mysteriously not by officer 1--render however invalid my consent may have been irrelvant?

I would appreciate your advice b/c I have already hired a friend to do some research for me and he is unclear from the cases he found how strong the law is on our side (10th circuit).

Some Random Guy

Case law is not on your side. The second officer was either more observant than the first, or else the first one wanted time to log your info and get the second officer involved before making an issue of it.

The officer told you you had drugs and to hand them over. You said "OK" and gave them to him. There was no search here - you volunteered that you had the drugs and you handed them over.

flyfisher