• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Officer approached car in public parking area

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

voltage18

I am a resident of Idaho. I was the passenger in a parked car. An officer came up and parked so his lights were pointing into our car, he approached our car, hand on his gun and knocked on the window. He asked angrily for information and then he spotted a jar in the backseat and threateningly asked for it. We complied and it had marijauna in it. I took the blame saying it was mine. Did the officer have reason to come over to the car and is it likely that my case will get thrown out?

CdwJava

I am a resident of Idaho. I was the passenger in a parked car. An officer came up and parked so his lights were pointing into our car, he approached our car, hand on his gun and knocked on the window. He asked angrily for information and then he spotted a jar in the backseat and threateningly asked for it. We complied and it had marijauna in it. I took the blame saying it was mine. Did the officer have reason to come over to the car and is it likely that my case will get thrown out?
First, you were in a public parking lot. He does not need a reason to approach a vehicle and people in a public place. Plus, I suspect there was something about the vehicle (where it was parked, the time of day or night, the actions of the people inside, etc.) that caught his attention in the first place.

If he saw a jar with marijuana in the back seat, well, chances are that it is not going to be suppressed unless he agrees that he demanded you turn over something that he had no idea what it was and thus had no probable cause to seize it.