• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

posession, paraphenalia, open intox charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jellybean28420

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? michigan

i got an open intox charge and was arrested for posession of marijuana, and posession of paraphenalia. this is my first offense, i dont' even have so much as a traffic ticket, i am wondering if i should get an attorney. i don't know what i should be expecting from this. i am a fulltime student on the deans list and i already do volunteer work on my own time. i need some advice, please help:confused:What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

snprvnm

Go to your arraignment (1st court appearance) and ask for a "pretrail" with the DA/Solicitor he will tell you exactly what he is going to "recommend" to the judge, there may be some minimum sentencing guidelines for the offenses you are charged with so your best case scenario is to plea to a lesser charge like disorderly conduct and pay a fine, possibly with probation and community service. Make sure you dress well and take your school transcripts and a parent if you're under 21. If they wont play ball and you cant afford an attorney, ask for a public defender.. you will get a continuance

the suck part of it is they will make you submit to drug testing while on probation :( so try to avoid that if you can

Also in my state if you plead guilty to a drug charge you automatically lose your license, they don't tell you that in the criminal courts here, because it is an "administrative" suspension from the state..