• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

possesion?????

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

JMilan84

I got charged with possession but didnt have anything on me? what is up with that? Is that something I will be able to get dropped easily??

J

JMilan84

while being interogated i admitted to having drugs earlier in the day, but they didnt find any on me. i got ratted on and thats how they knew i had drugs before, but i had already gotten rid of them. also they didnt read me my miranda rights before interrogating me... can they charge you with possession if they dont find anything on me??

F

FKNA

I'm no lawyer, but the way I see it, No evidence, No case.

calatty

But there is evidence. Someone told the police that you possessed drugs earlier that day and then you admitted that you had drugs. Your admission alone would not be enough (corpus delicti rule), but the snitch's testimony is corroborating evidence. There is no requirement that the police catch you in possession of the substance. There is a question whether the DA could convince the jury beyond a reasonable doubt based on that evidence. Nothing is dropped easily.

J

JMilan84

but i was also not read my miranda rights before interrogation, so therefore wouldnt what i admitted to be thrown out as evidence?

F

FKNA

Calatty...."There is a question whether the DA could convince the jury beyond a reasonable doubt based on that evidence"....That's what I mean...without any physical evidence I don't see the DA having a case.