• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Possession w/Intent to sell First offense

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

infiniti817

I was arrested in my dorm with half an oz. of marijuana bagged up. As this was my first time being in trouble with the law, I thought cooperating with the police would help my case. I gave them my statement that I had never sold before, but intended to sell that marijuana to reduce financial stress on my parents(I do not qualify for financial aid, therefore have to pay for all of my college expenses out of the pocket). I have already given my statement and am charged with possession with intent to sell. I'm a premedical student and cannot afford to have a felony on my record. Can my public defender get it bumped down to a misdemeanor? I've never been arrested before and have a clean record.

note: When I gave my statement to the police, I was honest and told them the weed was from my hometown, but when my parents asked me where it was from, I said from kid at school. Now my parents insist on sitting in with my meeting with the public defender and having me "come clean" and tell him I got it from some unknown kid at college. What is the likelihood of getting this case resolved at the pre-trial with a plea-bargain, before I even get taken to trial? I also told the disciplinary director at my school that I brought the weed from home, and that can be used as evidence in the trial (if It doesnt get settled at the pre-trial)

Do you think I can get it bumped down to a misdemeanor at the pre trial?

The Occultist

Firstly, we cannot predict the future.