• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Search and Seizure, chance at suppression?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kb8kobe86

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

New Jersey
I am a New Jersey resident and I was recently arrested for Possession of marijuana (8 ounces), and Intent to distribute, I was also cited for Possession of A CDS (the previously mentioned marijuana) and Loud/Deffective Exhaust, as well as Obstruction of View.
I’m assuming the reason for the pullover would have to be the loud/defective exhaust (my exhaust is stock and there is nothing wrong with it), or the obstruction of view (the radar detector is low on my windshield and my back windshield has dark (but legal) tints (my windows don’t have tints), I know for a fact the officer could not have seen this until he (The stop was at midnight , very dark)
A. Pulled me over and put his spotlight on or
B. Came up to the car and noticed it
So I would think there is no reason for a pullover, would I be correct in this presumption? I think discovery will show this and my lawyer has already put in a petition for discovery.
Do they have to turn in the video tape, or do they have the right to withhold it?