• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unlawful Marijuana Possession Penal 221.05

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

skumbag66

What is the name of your state? New York

My 16 year old girlfriend recently went to court in Wilton, NY for an unlawful possession of marijuana ticket, which is penal 221.05. In New York state such a ticket is considered a violation and the maximum penelty for your first offense is a ticket for no more then $100.00. When she went to court however, she was given a 100 dollar ticket, with a 65 dollar service charge, and was also given 25 hours of community service. Im no lawyer but I dont think that this is legal and if there are any lawyers out there that may want to consult me on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

JETX

What did her attorney say as to the punishment exceeding the state allowed?

And how old are you??

New York Consolidated Laws:
§221.05 Unlawful possession of marihuana.
A person is guilty of unlawful possession of marihuana when he knowingly and unlawfully possesses marihuana.
Unlawful possession of marihuana is a violation punishable only by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars. However, where the defendant has