• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Appealing a 5 yr. Denial

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

justin285

Appealing a 5 yr. license denial?

Hello everyone, and thank you in advance for looking. I was charged with a felony DWI (it was my third DWI) in October of 2005. I went through what Missouri calls DWI/Drug Court, which is essentially a rehabilitation program (rigorous drug testing, really expensive, classes, etc.) that lasts a year long. I graduated that on time with no violations in Oct. 2006, and since then have had no run-ins with the law and I'm keeping in line with probation with no problems of any sort.

My sentence was a five-year license denial, along with five years' probation and completion of Drug Court. I was wondering, though, has anyone attempted to appeal a five-year denial and get their license back early? I just graduated college this past December and I'm looking for a job, but I'm finding it increasingly difficult without a vehicle (surprise there, right?) and my girlfriend and I are trying to get a place together, but with no job and no car....anyway, you get the gist, I think. We're both in our mid-20's and still living with our parents, and this can get frustrating.

Anyway, I can't apply for a hardship because in MO, if you've got any sort of felony on your driving record, they refuse to give one. But if I were to give the court good, fair reason (just graduated college, steady girlfriend, job-hunting) to reinstate me, does anyone think they would, OR, has anyone heard of the court doing this on the basis of "good behavior"?