• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

ARD in PA with a NY liscense

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

use2brew

What is the name of your state?

New York State

I posted this earlier, but nowbody responded. I'll try it again.

I guess the main question is "Is ARD a DUI conviction in PA?"

I am accepting the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) for a DUI(2) in PA. I am a liscensed driver in NY. PA makes you pay a fine and suspends your liscense for 1 month.

NYS DMV says that if you are "convicted" of a DUI in another state, they revoke your liscense for 3 months. I am told ARD is not a DUI conviction.

Will NY DMV suspend my liscense? How long? 1 month? 3 month revocation?

Bravo8

ARD is considered a conviction in Pennsylvania, however each state has it's own rules on convictions from other states.

use2brew

This is not what I am told

I'm told it's a pre-trial disposition, and not a conviction. Once you complete the program, your record is expunged.

I'm told there is a difference. It may effect what happens to my liscens in NY.

I do understand there is a suspension. But again, I'm told not a conviction.

hockeygirl8585

Ard

What was your sentence w/ ARD and how did you get it? Did you need a lawyer? I still have yet to receive notification about anything in the mail but i got pulled over for this on Thurs. Also, what was you Blood Alcohol Level? It's my first offense and I have absolutely no criminal record or traffic violations or anything so I'm wondering if I qualify...

use2brew

Here's what I know so far