• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

arresting officer made mistake

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sabbathterror

i went to court today for my promise to appear on DUI charges, and when i got there i was not on any of the court lists.I then went to ask why they looked my name up and all that came up was a charge from when i was younger in my teens , soo i asked what should i do, the lady says .. contact your arresting officer. Yea right like im going to that if they made mistake its thier fault , so im just wondering if my case is thrown out now, or happens now? need answers

grndslm

I am by no means an expert, and I have had no interest in law up until the past week when I was arrested for public intoxication.

I would guess, however, that if the charge isn't in the system... you prolly don't have anything to worry about. If months have passed since you were arrested, and the courts still don't know anything about it... I don't see the need in talking to the officer.

It would certainly suck if the cop stumbled upon the paperwork later and then tried to set up another court date for you, but I just don't see how that's possible.

Once again... I am by no means an expert or anything remotely similar to a lawyer.

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
It is VERY possible if the SOL hasn't run. OP hiding from this is NOT the smart thing to do or you may find yourself with a warrant in the future or other problems.

>Charlotte<

Lurker
OG is right. Regardless of whose mistake it was, it's your problem. Allowing it to go unchecked could end up being a much bigger problem that will take a lot more than just a couple of phone calls to fix.