• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California DUI 13 years ago and driver's license troubles

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

leequa

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon.

Hi there. As the title states, I got a DUI in California 13 years ago. I was not and I am not from California. At the time, I was a resident of New Mexico and I was passing through. My NM license was taken away but was mailed back to my address in New Mexico. It was a long while ago, but I'm assuming they told me that I had a court date that I needed to attend, which I didn't. If I'm remembering correctly, the date wasn't for a couple months and couldn't afford to fly back to California and I certainly couldn't afford to live in my van and wait around for the date. This happened in Redding California.

So, I figured that all was fine because I certainly wouldn't be moving to California anytime soon and I certainly wouldn't have any reasons to drive around there either. Years passed and I moved to Seattle and I had no problems going on with my life and getting a driver's license there. Once I finished school, I moved to Portland Oregon and here is where that DUI has come back and had bit me in the butt.