• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving with a suspended license after dui

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jaygarciavee

About 2 months ago, I was pulled over for driving someone else's vehicle that had an expired registration. I shouldn't have been driving since I had a suspended driver license but at that time I was desperate and did not wanna be late to work. Bad choice!

I had a suspended license due to a 4 year old DUI. I had payed off all fines but failed to complete my alcohol program until recently. I completed my program and I am now a licensed driver. Today was my court date for driving with a suspended license. It did not go as expected. First off, I will like to admit that although I have a dui I do not know much about the california court system. I am aware driving with a suspended license is a very serious criminal offense but I didn't know what to expect at court. I didn't get assigned a public defender like i did for my dui. The judge asked me for the vehicle I was driving (at that time of citation) registration. I did not have it being that it wasn't my vehicle.. He said it didn't matter I still needed the registration. He offered me a plea deal which I did not understand and when I tried to explain to him that I didn't understand what he had just said he quickly shut me up and said take the plea or plea not guilty. He was very rude!! And spoke quick. He gave me no time to speak. So not knowing what I would plea guilty to, I plead not guilty. So now I have a trial court date. I really don't know what to expect. I'm very nervous to say the less. After leaving court and processing what had just happened.. I believe the plea deal was a fine and work