• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving While Suspended from DUI conviction Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dmp78

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? North Carolina

I was convicted of a DUI a few years ago. Before I was able to get my license reinstated, I received a speeding ticket that suspended my license for another year. I had a limited driving priveledge seeing I am a graduate student and needed transportation for school. Just yesterday, an officer pulled me over for no seatbelt abd found I was driving while suspended (I thought I was still ok to drive to work, but my driving priveledge had expired). So I just got charged with driving while suspended. I just set up an appointment with a lawyer. This is all in North Carolina. What can I expect?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Expect to use public transportation for quite some time. You shouldn't drive anywhere.

irish77

I don't get it. I mean, I intend to get my license suspended for a year and have already looked at bus schedules. Your a$$ is lucky you're not in jail because PA and NC are the WORST states to get DUI's and get caught with a suspended license.

irish77

all I'm saying is that you can't be looking for an out when there is really no out. you're smarter than that and you know it. give your car away, flatten the tires, do whatever you need to do to not drive. I am not trying to come down on you, but really, suspended means suspended. It's no joke. I'd rather skateboard than get run the risk of getting caught driving with a suspended/revoked license. I know people every day get away with it, but my conscious would kill me.

lenny71