• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DUI in another state -- transfer license before trial?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

zxx

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? VA

I'm currently a resident of Virginia, but will be moving out of state to Arizona before my trial. While I have serious doubts as to the evidence of the officer (I was leaving work at the time I was pulled over, and cannot be drunk at work, and have co-workers to verify this, as an example), I'd like to "prepare for the worst and hope for the best".

Since I will not have a DUI conviction when I move, I will have the ability to obtain an Arizona license when I arrive, before flying back for my court date. I'm trying to determine if this would be a good idea or not.

Virginia appears to typically waive any jail time for first-time DUI offenses, whereas Arizona requires 24 hours minimum. As well, Virginia appears to require 6 months ASAP and installation of an intoxilyzer device, whereas Arizona is 1 year.

If I am convicted in Virginia with an Arizona license, would I be required to submit to Virginia's requirements, or Arizona's? I'm trying to avoid any jail time, obviously, but the intoxilyzer requirement is also a big one. In addition, would I be required to calibrate in Virginia once a month, or would that typically be transferred to Arizona? Thats' a 2,500 mile drive that I surely don't want to make monthly.

sandyclaus

...I have serious doubts as to the evidence of the officer (I was leaving work at the time I was pulled over, and cannot be drunk at work, and have co-workers to verify this, as an example), I'd like to "prepare for the worst and hope for the best"...