• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DUI w/ Hit & Run charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

baseball33

I am a California resident.

I was in an accident a couple of months back that totalled my car. I was drinking and given field sobrieity tests along with a breathalizer test. I blew a .18, which is obviously well over the legal limit. This is a night I regret and plan on accepting all responsibility for that night.

When I got into my accident it is on a street (residential) that comes to a T-shaped (where I dead-end and have to either go right or left. I had the accident 2 blocks from my house. This street has apartments along it so the entire street is filled with all the overflow parking from the apartments. When you come to the T in the road it also is filled with parked cars. I hit a parked car about 30 feet from the T. I scraped the entire right side of my car and it was still operable. I thought I would pull over to the next spot on the street instead of blocking the entire road. I drove about a block before I realized there was no place to pull over so I mad a U-turn at another T-shaped intersection. At this point a man blocked me in and grabbed my keys from my car and claimed I was running from the scene.

When the police arrived the office asked me, "After you were drinking where were you heading?" I told her, "My house." In the police report she said I was heading to my house after I hit the car.

I was charged with:
Driving while under the influence of drugs/alcohol
Driving with a BAC of .18
Hit and Run accident

I plan on pleading guilty to the first 2 since I was guilty of those things and accept that. I plan to plead not guilty to hit and run.