• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

First DUI at age 19

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PaintKing

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kansas

Long story short... Got my first DUI last Saturday night. I've already got a hold of a lawyer and retained him. I'm currently a sophomore in college and about to get my associates degree and move on to a 4 year college. I know I messed up and it sucks I learned the hard way. I am just thankful that I did not kill anyone or myself. In a sad way I think this is what I needed. I was in dire need of a wakeup call. I just wish it was not on these terms. My concern is that I have a good job and was going to be able to transfer my job when I relocate this summer. I have no problem paying my fines and attending the classes required and etc... I deserve those. My concern is losing my license without being able to even attain a hard license that will allow me to go to and from school and work. Losing my license entirely will cause me to lose my job. Which will in turn delay my move to the 4 year college.

Any ideas? I've discussed it with my lawyer but, since he has not received any of my paperwork he does not know if I have any defense. What he basically said to me was... That I should have no problem getting a diversion in city court which would be the hard license, classes, and etc... But, in district court he told me that if the cop shows up then I have almost zero hope of keeping even a hard license.

I just feel that I truly deserve a second chance since I am trying to make something of myself. I think a year total suspension is ludacris when am I am trying to support myself and go to school full time.

Thanks all,