• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Licensure question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cad376

This is a bit complicated, and I'm trying to make sure I'm not breaking any laws (thats the last thing I need at this point).

I was arrested for DUI in Colorado this January. I was a student at the time with a Texas drivers license. My license was confiscated by the police in Colorado, and never returned to me. I did not protest the seizure and was convicted of the DUI. Later I received a notice in the mail that my license was being revoked for one year (from the state of Colorado, not Texas). I am currently still on a mail-in probation program in Colorado.

Fast Forward to the present. I have moved from Colorado to New York, and was trying to see if I could get a New York license (found I couldn't because I had been revoked in another state, and you cannot be issued a license until it is reinstated there). I then called the Texas DMV to see if I could reinstate it there (Reinstating your license after a DUI is easier in Texas than Colorado), and found that my Texas license was still active. It seems that although the card itself was confiscated, the license was never revoked in Texas. After filling out some forms for a replacement license to be sent to New York, it seems everything is going through without a hitch to send me an active Texas license.