• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Minor in possession of alcohol questions...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DL1108

I am a New York resident, with a New York driver's license. While staying in California this summer, I got a minor in possession of alcohol on the night before I flew back to NY. Because of this I am unable to appear in court in California. After calling the courthouse I was informed that I was to write a letter to the judge explaining my situation that would prove that I am a NY resident and I am currently in NY, which they can either accept or reject. I really don't know what would happen after that but I am a bit concerned about what may happen if it is rejected.

I have also noticed that MIP punishments are much more severe in California than in New York, especially when it pertains to having your drivers license revoked. If everything goes smoothly would I be punished under California law or New York law? Can I get my license revoked?

quincy

DL1108, only New York can take action on your New York driver's license.

The forum has several members from both New York and California (attorneys, law enforcement, et al) and perhaps one of them can address your California MIP.

(thanks for deleting your other thread :))

Last edited:

DL1108

DL1108, your duplicate post in the Juvenile Law section of the forum can be deleted. While both sections of the forum could handle your question, it is probably better to have it answered here.

Only New York can take action on your New York driver's license.

The forum has several members from both New York and California and perhaps one of them can address your California MIP.