• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Multiple questions around DUI first offense in Massachussetts

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

AlexeiL

Im a MA resident who moved to NY not too long before getting my DUI. When this happened I was back in MA and still had my MA license. I got my truck stuck in the mud about 20 ft away from the road, trying to turn around because i missed my turn. Thats how the officer found me: off the road with a case of beer in the cab, me reeking of booze, trying to get the truck out.
Now, in the report he noted that he didnt observe me driving, but that he saw going back and forth trying to get the truck out.
I blew a 0.20 bac, and failed field sobriety. (too drunk to refuse the tests)

Basically what im wondering is:
Any wiggle room, since I wasnt on a public road?
Since my residency is in NY, even though I had a MA license, what do I do with the 24D(MA alcohol course) and the Hardship License.
And will NY want a piece of the fines/penalties?

AlexeiL

I saw the court-appointed attorney for about 25 mins. He said I shouldn't have done the breathalyzer. Other than that, not much help, and he wont see me until the day of court.

FlyingRon

If you got there by driving off a public road, it probably fits into the "public way" definition that DUI applies to. Further, he didn't have to actually see you leave the road if there was evidence (tire tracks from your vehicle to the road) or you made incriminating statements (as they say, it can be taken down and used against you in court).