• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Notification of Criminal convictions by employer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fitz

What is the name of your state? California

Recently, I was arrested for DUI in the state of Nevada. I am a California resident. I was booked at the local county jail and made bail 12 hours later. My arraignment date is May 7, 2008 at the Storey county courthouse in Virginia City, NV.

I have serveral questions:

Since my California driver's license was not taken can I still drive in the state of California?

I understand from the Storey county DA's office that the police report will not be made available until the arraignment date. Is this standard procedure?

Also, they did not do a roadside breath analyzer test. The authorities did a blood test at the time I was booked at the jail. Is this standard procedure? I understand from the Storey County DA's office it will take 6-8 weeks to analyze the blood sample with the results. So the blood sample with the blood alcohol content might not be available at the arraingnment date. Could this be correct?

This would be my first DUI offense. If convicted I would have a misdemeanor on my record. Could I evidently have this offense expunged from my record? How would a misdemeanor conviction effect my current and future employment? My current employer has a Notification of Criminal convictions that I must inform them of any convictions within 5 business days? This this legal in the state of California? I do not drive for my current occupation.

FlyingRon

You're OK for now. If convicted, you'll probably have your NV driving privs suspended. When CA finds out about this they'll suspend you as well.