• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Out of state DUI / driving privilege

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

swift2276

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA
I was just stopped for my second DUI in NJ. First one in PA in 1999 (ARD). I am currently a PA resident. If convicted will my license be suspended in both states? Thanks.

Your PA license will be suspended, and your ability to get a license in any other state will also show you as "Not Eligible".

For the criminal offense, you will be under the jurisdiction of the Court prosecuting the offense. The suspension of your license will fall generally under your home state, with anything else the Judge from NJ wants to add.

swift2276

For the criminal offense, you will be under the jurisdiction of the Court prosecuting the offense. The suspension of your license will fall generally under your home state, with anything else the Judge from NJ wants to add.
Thanks O&T. Really scary and confusing stuff. The DL suspension in NJ is tough for repeat offenders (as it should be). But is sounds like I will receive NJ jail time and PA license suspension time for second offenders right??

You will definitely fall under the jurisdiction of the Court in NJ for anything related to the DUI, i.e.; jail time, fines, order of license suspension. PA will automatically suspend your license under PA state law, and will add anything the Judge in NJ stipulates as punishment from NJ, i.e.; 2-3 years suspension, having a B.A. machine installed on your car, etc.