• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

speedy trial 2945.71 does it apply?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

arazi

What is the name of your state? OH

I have an Ohio OVI case that has been pending six months now. I have an inexperienced ovi attorney that I am thinking about firing. He charges a lot but he did not even know the ALS ramifications of refusing to take the breathalyzer. My license has been suspended all this time with occupational priviliges. The occupational privileges hardly do me any good because I am a salesman that has to travel out of state. I have not been able to rent a car since the date of the offense. Needless to say, I'm getting to know the public transportation systems in America pretty well.

Anyway, my current situation is that it has been nearly 90 days since my motion to suppress hearing and I have not heard from the court regarding a date for a jury trial (a jury demand was filed). Prior to the motion to suppress my attorney filed a time waiver that the judge required because of a continuance request (again, this was prior to the motion to suppress).

My question: does the speedy trial clock start anew after the motion to suppress hearing or does the time waiver give the court all the time they want to sit on the case? I am interpreting the statute as that they have 90 days to bring me to trial (1st offense misdemeanor).

Thanks!What is the name of your state?

Curt581

In a nutshell, they've got 90 days to bring you to trial... unless you waive it, which you did.

No, speedy trial "time clocks" do not renew. Once you voluntarily waive it, it's no longer an issue.