• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Am I liable for this or should I fight it?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Getty611

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I have a few questions about a college debt situation I am currently dealing with. I graduated undergrad in May 2010 in Michigan and was enrolled in a Masters program in Virginia.

A few days before classes began, I decided I could not afford the tuition and decided to drop the program and work to pay off my undergrad loans instead of attending more school. I verbally dropped from the program with the head of the Masters program and then proceeded to drop the classes I had registered for. I did this online.

A few weeks later I received a phone call from a staff member of the Masters program inquiring as to why I was not showing up to classes. I informed him that I had dropped the classes and the program and he told me that my classes were NOT dropped and at this point (the withdraw period was over) I was responsible for the charges ($3000).