• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can an international student complete last year of High School in the US?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Satycorn

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio

Hi,
I am a student from eastern Europe and I'm building the "scheme" of my higher education in USA in my mind already. I'm in second year of High School and I have already decided that I will go to Ohio State University after high school to study Computer Science. Me and my family have already been taking care of the financial stuff and my uncle in Ohio is willing to support me and cover all my accommodation costs, including food,so I will be leaving with him.

I was wondering though, as I have already discussed this with my parents, is somebody like me allowed to go to the US one year earlier and complete my last year of High School AND then going to University, without coming back to my home country or needing to apply for extra permissions?

I have only two months to finish this academic year, is it possible or am I too late? Are high schools in the US as competitive as universities? Is it impossible for international students?
I have plenty of people my age that were in the same school as me and now they went to the US to finish their two last years of high school, but the, just like me, didn't start high school there. And I just can't ask them because they always whine about this topic and find a way to change subject.