• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College Cancelling Major

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rs_nvs

Last year I enrolled in an associates program part time as I am employed full time and am a mother to 2 so full time was not an option. I am currently in my 3rd semester but am no where near finishing since I am only part time. Recently, I was informed that the school will be cancelling the major. The student's in this major were told they would have the summer semester on this campus and next fall semester on another one of their campuses to finish their degree before they stopped offering the culinary classes I need to finish my culinary management degree. This does not give me enough time to finish my degree. I spoke to my adviser and my dean, and they both said I should transfer to a local community college that is closer to my home to finish the degree. In speaking with the college which was recommended to me I was told that my credits will not be transferable and on top of that they do not offer night classes in my major. I'm not sure what my options are at this point.

TheGeekess

Keeper of the Kraken
Before you enrolled, did you check to see if the credits would be transferable?
Most 'For Profit' colleges credit DO NOT transfer because they are not accredited. You pay for a more expensive education without the benefit of taking those credits to a different school. :cool:

rs_nvs

Before you enrolled, did you check to see if the credits would be transferable?