• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College Rescinding Degree

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dunscaft

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland

I am wondering if there are any laws regarding how a MD University System school can rescind degrees.

Hi, I am attending a University in Maryland. I was informed today that my university is rescinding my degree because I did not meet the program requirements. Note that this is after I have received a diploma and ordered an official transcript that confirmed I was awarded the degree. I believe that the language of the degree audit changed between now and when I graduated. I don't actually think that the requirements were ever different - but when I graduated I met the requirements as they were written on the degree audit.

I have made other plans and I am trying to get into a program at another college and having a degree makes it likely that I will get in and not having a degree makes it rather unlikely (the degree counts as "points" toward the admission process).

I can provide more details if necessary, but for now I just want to look into if any laws in general apply.

justalayman

I believe that the language of the degree audit changed between now and when I graduated. I don't actually think that the requirements were ever different - but when I graduated I met the requirements as they were written on the degree audit.

I believe you need to find out if that is the reason. Then you can address whatever the actual reason is rather than running after this blindly.

Last edited:

dunscaft